I See You and I’m Staying

Standard

102

“When Jesus saw Nathanael approaching, he said of him, “Here is a true Israelite, in whom there is nothing false.””How do you know me?” Nathanael asked. Jesus answered, “I saw you while you were still under the fig tree before Philip called you.” Then Nathanael declared, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God; you are the King of Israel” (John 1:47-49).

Jesus knew us before we knew Him. We ask, “How did you know us?” He then pointed to the previous thirty-seven years and says, “I saw you on your first date, walking on that cold beach… I saw you praying in that old 63 Plymouth Valiant (I loved that car)… I saw you on July 9, 1977… December 15, 1980… August 15, 1985… I was there as you mourned over “Little One”… I saw you in the times of Mark’s sins and Robyn’s … I saw you in moments of great love and triumph… I saw you when you thought you would never triumph again… I have seen you from eternity past and am delighted to continue the appeal for you to be who you are in Me – a “true” man and woman of God, in whom there is nothing false. Your lives, your marriage and your future are true because I “saw” you before you saw Me. “You see, at just the right time, when you were still powerless, I, your Christ died for you. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous husband or a godly wife though for a good man or woman someone might possibly dare to die. But I, the Son God, demonstrate My own special brand of love for you in this: when you were still sinners, when you were doing everything you could to dissolve your union, I died for you” (Romans 5:6-8). Now I stand at the right hand of the Father and summon you to walk in your sinful likings no longer. But if you do know this: I will stand as your Advocate before the Father and together we will raise you to renewed oneness” (1 John 2:1).

And Mark and Robyn said, “Teacher, you are the Son of God; You are the monarch of our marriage.”

Picture from: http://www.jennifershopeblog.com

3 thoughts on “I See You and I’m Staying

Leave a Reply

