“….I’m so glad you came to earth.

Standard

85

“When I reflect on my life and the type of person I could have become, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I think of the hurt and pain I have caused, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When by Your grace I am able to heal, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I think of what I have used and abused in an attempt to fill the emptiness of my life, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I am filled with your Spirit, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I see the smile of a little child, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I see that smile turned to grief, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When my band-aids have no effect upon the broken hearts of those I love, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I see the Great Physician skillfully mend a wounded heart, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When the world says darkness is light and light is darkness, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I look into the light of your face, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When my body no longer functions with the vitality of youth yet my inner man flies like an eagle, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When my heart and mind have said there is no hope, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When you give me courage to face a hopeless situation, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When everything in me says, “panic, run, turn away” and yet somehow I turn and face those shadows of fear and uncertainty, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When sin claims to be my master, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When by the Spirit I put to death the misdeeds of the flesh, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When those I have trusted no longer walk side by side, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I see your faithfulness in the lack of mine, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When my children leave the nest to step out on their own, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When filled with confidence that they too will walk with you, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I regret yesterday and can’t see tomorrow, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I see your hand of providence, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When my brother and I disagree and I don’t get my way, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When something supernatural in me touches something eternal in him, I’m so glad you came to earth.

When I face the last days of my life, I’ll be so glad you came to earth.

When I see your face and know as I am fully known, I’ll be so glad you came to earth.

Christmas ’98

Leave a Reply

