God’s Light Within

Aside

Image

“In him was life, and that life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.” (John 1: 4-5)

“Power without love is reckless and abusive, and love without power is sentimental and anemic.”  Martin Luther King, Jr.

I have a problem – Duh. I often attempt to make my life work by my own efforts and energy. Similarly I try to make my marriage work by the flesh of my own self effort. What’s that about?

Paul said, “Beginning with the Spirit will I try to complete God’s work in me through the flesh” (Galatians 3.3)? It has been asked, “Could the deeds of my life be accomplished without ever consulting and depending on the Spirit of God?” The answer to that question in my life has too often been, “Yes”. I tend to either do those things I know I can humanly achieve and feel safe in or mask my achievements with religious jargon and “churchy” deeds robed in alleged faith. I have been granted access to participate in the divine nature of God but often choose to go it alone. I am invited into the grand adventure of genuine surrender but reject it for the safety of the shore. Why do I go there? I am not alone.

If there is any true life in our marriages it is because we have been touched by the love of the creative light of God (whether we acknowledge that touch or not). If there is distance and illness it is because we have ignored that light and have not fully understood who it is who would illuminate us. We practice darkness in a relationship that is intended to be the most reflective of the union between God and man on earth. The light has shined in our darkness and in spite of its brilliance we are time and again left unmoved.

What if I applied to my marriage the supernatural effect of his life and light abiding in me? What if I sought His power which is deep within and from there released my love to Robyn? What impact would that have in taking our marriage to new places of intimacy, trust and power? Wouldn’t it be a grand experiment and testimony to the life and light of Christ if we would all dare to live there?

Oh Lord, forgive us of our self-will and simple-mindedness when we have access to your ever increasing glory. Release in us the impressiveness of your light? Open our eyes to your wonders. Take our breath away as we have been graced to behold your face – your bright and beautiful face. May love never be safe again. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

